Zullo show


Zullo show-20150930

I saw the current show last weekend, and especially liked this painting – it is large and positioned a the end of the gallery so that when you walk into the space it is directly ahead.  It is painted on a flattened cardboard box, making me wonder if it was the man’s home.  I was struck by the irony of the fact that the MSH kids recently did a sleep out at the Town House, a wonderful local learning event, started I discovered last week by Richard DeSorgher, when the kids usually sleep in cardboard boxes for one night.   However, to me this man did not look like he was only doing it for one night.  A local connection making me think about the larger world.

Another Medfield connection to the rest of the world occurred for me on Medfield Day when I visited the Amilia’s Light booth and learned about how that organization is reaching out from Medfield to help girls in Uganda escape from prostitution.  It certainly both surprised my Medfield Day, and moved me enough to buy for Kristen a Ugandan made rolled paper bracelet made by those girls.

We are fortunate to have such things as the Zullo Gallery and Amilia’s Light in our town, things that both astonish and make us think.

Leave a Reply

