Bob Maguire announces his resignation


Letter from Bob Maguire -

November 6,2012
Dear Parents:

I am writing to you to inform you that I discussed my plan to retire from my position as superintendent of schools at the conclusion of the school year with the Medfield School Committee last evening. I have been discussing this option with my wife for some time now and have come to the conclusion that this is the right decision for us at this time. After 22 years in Medfield I am looking forward to a different pace and the opportunity to spend more time with my family. I am also excited about the chance to experience new opportunities in the time ahead.

As you may imagine this was not an easy decision for me. I have had the
opportunity to be a principal and superintendent in one of the best school systems in the nation. Over these many years I have been supported by a tremendous group of professional educators and support staff. I have also benefited from an extraordinary level of support from Medfield parents and community members to build a strong future for the children of Medfield.

Personally I would have preferred to make this announcement to you and the community next June. I have chosen to make the announcement at this time to allow the school committee maximum flexibility to schedule a process to secure my replacement. I have the utmost respect for this school committee and I have confidence they will conduct a thoughtfully structured search process in the months ahead.

Over the next months we have a number of specific initiatives including the new requirements for evaluations, world language expansion, implementing of technology tools for instruction, facility needs at Dale Street School and the ongoing challenges of achieving an acceptable school budget.

I look forward to continuing to achieve success in these and many other important areas that will support our efforts.

Sincerely,
Robert C. Maguire
Superintendent of Schools

Leave a Reply

